Re-reading Paxton Locke


I’ve got an ARC of The Sacred Radiance, book 4 in the Paxton Locke series [Silver Empire affiliate link] by Daniel Humphreys, and I felt like it would be fun to run through the three previous volumes again before I get into it. Spoiler alert: it was.

In my reviews, I noted that the first three books serve as a rite of passage for Paxton. Now that this process is complete, Paxton can take on greater responsibilities. Fortunately for us, that mostly means laying more smackdowns on evil creatures and things that go bump in the night. The opening scene of The Sacred Radiance involves waterboarding a succubus, which is just as awesome as it sounds.

I feel like if there were a contemporary equivalent of Appendix N, the Paxton Locke series would show up in it. I heartily recommend the Paxton Locke series. You can pick it up directly from the publisher If you sign up for their Book Club, you can get each book for 20% less than it retails for on Amazon, and all of Silver Empire’s books come out on their own website first.

The Paxton Locke Series

by Daniel Humphreys
Fade: Paxton Locke book 1
Night’s Black Agents: Paxton Locke book 2
Come, Seeling Night: Paxton Locke book 3